Parihuela Peruana (Peruvian Fish Stew)

Standard

Parihuela, sometimes known as Peruvian Bouillabaisse, is a spicy, fragrant stew packed with seafood. It’s a dish typically found in the coastal regions of Peru. This is my dad’s “American” version of it. :)

I love seafood; I grew up with seafood. For me, parihuela is a special dish since my dad would make it every once in a while. My dad is from Peru who created his own version of parihuela when he moved to NH. (I have yet to see any authentic Peruvian restaurants around here.)

Traditionally, parihuela is made with Pacific fish stock and fresh seafood. But since I’m a girl on a budget, I want to be able to enjoy my food without breaking my wallet.  Through trial and error and various types of fish later, my dad found that Atlantic cod continues to be an excellent substitute for such a dish.

So go ahead and try it out. Tell me what you think. :)

Parihuela Peruana (Peruvian Seafood Stew)

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Time: about 1hr and 45mins
  • Difficulty: mid
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp of oil
  • 2 tbsp of minced garlic
  • 1½ tbsp of Peruvian yellow chili pepper paste (ají amarillo*)
  • 1 medium-sized red onion, diced
  • 1 tbsp of red chili pepper paste (ají panca*)
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 3 smallish tomatoes (or 2 medium-sized), diced
  • 1 tbsp of chicha de jora* (or substitute w/ white wine if you don’t have any)
  • 1 bottle of beer (whatever you have on hand)
  •  ½ bag of frozen seafood (use your judgement, more is always better)
  • 2 lbs of white hard fish**

*ají amarillo, ají panca, and chicha de jora can be found in your local Latin food store.
** We found, over the years, that Atlantic cod or haddock works hold well in this particular dish.

Preparation:

  1. In a large pot heat the oil and sauté the minced garlic, be careful not to burn the garlic.
  2. Add in the yellow chili pepper paste, red onion, red chili pepper paste, pepper, salt, tomatoes.
  3. Stir and add in chicha de jora and beer.
  4. Set to medium temperature. Let boil.
  5. Meanwhile cut fish into large chunks. (About 3-inch pieces)
  6. Lower temperature and adjust to taste as needed.
  7. Add in frozen seafood.
  8. Increase temperature to medium heat and let boil.
  9. Add in fish and let cook. (You’ll know the fish is done when it turns opaque.)
  10. Adjust to taste again and serve immediately.
  11. Garnish with cilantro and lime wedges

Critique:

I love seafood. I think my dad’s version of parihuela is excellent since I can adjust the spiciness and overall I think it’s relatively easy (or at least less complex) to make than the original dish preparation.

What’s your version of Peruvian Parihuela?

Have you ever tried/made it before?

Thanks for visiting my blog. :)

Have any questions or recommendations? Comment below.

Leave a Reply

